• Synopsis
  • Reviews
  • Awards
  • Credits
  • Synopsis

    Diving deep into eighteenth-century London’s criminal underworld, through the eyes of a pair of crime-fighting brothers, this bold 5-part series follows the adventures of John and Henry Fielding, the magistrates of Westminster (the bow street runners) as they battle to establish the world’s first police force, against a rising tide of filth.

    With politicians sceptical about the new police force and the criminals running large parts of the city, the Fielding brothers and their team of constables have to work very hard to justify their existence. As the series progresses, the cases become increasingly challenging for the brothers, eventually leading their team of Runners into direct conflict with a powerful, ruthless and organised enemy.

  • Reviews

    Justin Hardy’s engrossing 5-part series tells the crime stories (dramatized from events well documented at the time) apace and in Ian McDiarmid and Iain Glen he has two actors who give beautifully reined-in performances as characters that at this remove appear larger than life. The scripts’ subtlety and humour keep one entertained:a gem of a programme.

    The Observer, Veronica Lee

    This turns out to be an unusual, intelligent and informative period thriller, part-police detective mystery and part-docu-drama.

    The Daily Mail

    With the long, greying hair and round, dark glasses, the principles actors Ian McDiarmid and Iain Glen come on like refugees from the reanimated Led Zeppelin in this absorbing and innovative new series.

    The Sunday Times, Martin James

  • Awards

    • Winner Judges’ Award – RTS Awards
    • Nominated Best Drama Series – Writers Guild of Great Britain Awards
  • Credits

    Ian McDiarmid
    Henry Fielding
    Iain Glen
    John Fielding
    Francis Magee
    Saunders Welch
    Steve Speirs
    William Pentlow
    Alice O’Connell
    Mary Fielding
    Sam Spruell
    Lord Newcastle
    Peter Mcdonald
    Tom Jones
    Sean Francis
    Daniel Carne
    J.D. Kelleher
    Ian Peck
    Juliet Aubrey
    Jane Fawkland
    Nigel Harman
    Thomas Deacon
    Gary Lewis
    Robert Anderson
    Barry Ward
    Patrick Jones
    Matt King
    Justin Hardy
    Dan Reed
    Clive Bradley
    Peter Harness
    Justin Hardy (Hardy & Sons)
    Rob Pursey (Touchpaper)
    Lachlan MacKinnon