Buy the DVD

Trial and Retribution II

by ITV, La Plante Productions


Three women are abducted, raped, mutilated and left for dead.

When one survives, she is able to finger the charismatic Damon Morton (Iain Glen) as the perpetrator, and initially it looks like an airtight case. However, when Morton’s three employees each step forward to take the blame, and his wife Cindy provides an alibi, things become much more complicated. Morton is clearly guilty, but with his charming smile and personality he seems to have everyone under his sway… including the jury.

Many believe this is the strongest of the Trial and Retribution series. Television this daring is all too rare.


Trial and Retribution 2 was compelling. David Hayman was mesmerizing as Det Supt Walker and a very large bouquet of red roses to Iain Glen who, in the controlling, demonic serial killer Brian Morton, created one of the great T.V monsters of all time.

– Times, Alison Graham

It was utterly gripping. David Hayman and Iain Glen were magnificent, the one restlessly explosive, the other glacially implosive. Because the script and the playing were tip-top, the split screen offered even more. Sure this is Grand Guignol, but so is ‘Psycho’. We knew who dunnit, but only a gruesome twist in the tale prevented his motiveless malignity going unpunished.

– The Observer

Consistently classy and always entertaining.

– The Times


David Hayman
Det. Supt. Michael Walker
Kate Buffery
Det. Insp. Pat North
Iain Glen
Damon Morton
Dorian Lough
D.S. Satchell
Simon Callow
Rupert Halliday
Deborah Findlay
D.C. Jill Ashton
Emma Croft
Cindy Morton
Hugh Dancy
Roberto Bellini
Andrew Buckley
Jimmy Garrett
Linda Henry
Marilyn Spark
Christine Tremarco
Cheryl Goodall
Roger Alborough
Sgt. Morris
Helen Anderson
Carol Lennox
Peter Gowen
Colin Lennox
Camilla Hunsley
Charmaine Morton
George Asprey
D.C. Hutchens
William Bass
Karl Morton
Nicholas Beveney
Vincent Nailer
Nicholas Blane
Derek Waugh
Enzo Cilenti
Antonio Bellini
Rowena Cooper
Corinna Maddox
Stephen Critchlow
I.D. Officer
Richard Durden
Dr. John Foster
Diana Fairfax
Mona Hammond
Bibi Harrow
Andrew Havill
Crispin Oxley
Edward Jewesbury
Judge Jeffries
Mario Kalli
Mehmet Al Said
David Kennedy
P.C. Phelps
Shirley King
Mrs. Garrett
Paul Kynman
D.S. Batchley
Joseph Long
Salvatore Bellini
Sebrene Maher
Justine Harrow
Sian Martin
Susie Harrow
Iain Mitchell
Julie Mullen
Mrs. Goodall
Deobia Oparei
D.C. Palmer
George Pensotti
Judge Geoffrey Winfield
Simon Robson
Lawrence Camplin
Daniel Ryan
D.S. Brown
Danny Sapani
Nicky Burton
Aisling Walsh
Producers include:
Lynda La Plante
Steve Lanning
Writer (devised by)
Lynda La Plante
Writers (teleplay)
Lynda La Plante
Vaughan Kinghan
Howard Baker


Iain Glen who, in the controlling, demonic serial killer Brian Morton, created one of the great T.V monsters of all time.