You are here: Home / Screen / Frankie’s House

Buy the DVD

Frankie’s House

by A&E Television Networks, Anglia Films


Twenty-year-old photographer Tim Page finds himself caught up in the horror and carnage of the Vietnam War.

Amidst the brutality and cynicism of war-torn Saigon, he discovers warmth and tenderness in his relationship with Danielle and later with Kate. But the bond that endures most is with Sean, the son of Errol Flynn and a fellow rookie correspondent. Together they relish taking the risks that their older and war-weary colleagues shun. And when they return exhausted from the nightmares of the battlefield, they seek oblivion in sex, drugs and rock’n roll. All are on offer at Frankie’s House.


Journalists who covered the Vietnam War experienced the conflict between moral and professional values in its most acute form. For that reason alone ‘Frankie’s House’ (ITV) would have made timely viewing, based as it is on Tim Page’s true story of a gang of war correspondents sharing a house in Saigon. But in fact this four-part series held it’s own in straight dramatic terms. This was partly due to fine performances by Iain Glen and Kevin Dillon… The script avoided sentimentalising a set of alliances made under grisly circumstances.

– The Observer, John Naughton

It’s a wonderful yarn, with lots of male bonding amidst the bullets and the brothels. A very compelling concoction.

  • The Sunday Times


1993 BAFTA Awards
Won Best Original Television Music (Jeff Beck, Jed Leiber)


Iain Glen
Tim Page
Kevin Dillon
Sean Flynn
Steven Vidler
Steve Cotler
Alan David Lee
Martin Stuart-Fox
Stephen Dillane
Antony Strickland
Alexandra Fowler
Kate Richards
Kaline Carr
Danielle Charasse
Todd Boyce
John Steinbeck IV
Nicholas Hammond
Major Frey
Kay Tong Lim
Marilyn Allen
Mrs. Page
Steve Bastoni
GI Jarvis
Don Battee
Che Lai Marine Sergeant
Damian Cudmore
Gerald Matthew Good
Tay Ninh Lieutenant
Ron Hackett
Mr. Page
Peter Hathaway
Martin Maddell
GI Reeves
Candido Minniti
Christopher Pate
Chief Petty Officer
Chad Tyler
An Khe Murray
Alan Zitner
Peter Fisk
Writers (screenplay)
Andy Armitage
Matt Ford
John Lonie
Writer (original story)
Tim Page
Matt Carroll
Eric Fellner
Ross Berryman


Fine performances by Iain Glen and Kevin Dillon