You are here: Home / Screen / The Iron Lady

Buy the DVD

The Iron Lady

by Pathe / Film 4


Elderly and a virtual prisoner in her own home due to her concerned staff and daughter Carol, Margaret Thatcher, Britain’s first woman prime minister, looks back on her life as she clears out her late husband Denis’s clothes for the Oxfam shop.

Denis is seen as being her rock as she first enters parliament and then runs for the leadership of the Conservative Party, culminating in her eventual premiership. Now his ghost joins her to comment on her successes and failures, sometimes to her annoyance, generally to her comfort until ultimately, as the clothes are sent to the charity shop, Denis departs from Margret’s life forever.


Gloriously staged, magnificently acted, brilliantly directed.

– New York Times, John Smith

Streep is simply brilliant as Thatcher in every way: her voice, her posture, her movements and facial expressions, her frightening and sudden imperiousness.

– London Evening Standard, David Sexton

The film stars an unsurpassable Meryl Streep, whose ability to empathize with her characters has never been more gloriously impassioned than it is in this titanic performance.

– New York Post, Kyle Smith


25 wins (including 2 Academy Awards) and 47 nominations

Meryl Streep won every award going including the Best Actress Oscar


Meryl Streep
Margaret Thatcher
Jim Broadbent
Denis Thatcher
Harry Lloyd
Young Denis Thatcher
Alexandra Roach
Young Margaret Thatcher
Olivia Colman
Carol Thatcher
Susan Brown
Alice da Cunha
Phoebe Waller-Bridge
Iain Glen
Alfred Roberts
Victoria Bewick
Muriel Roberts
Emma Dewhurst
Beatrice Roberts
Sylvestra Le Touzel
Hostess 1949
Michael Culkin
Host 1949
Stephanie Jacob
Female Guest 1949
Robert Portal
Grey Suited Guest 1949
Amanda Root
Clifford Rose
Michael Cochrane
Jeremy Clyde
Michael Simkins
Eloise Webb
Young Carol
Alexander Beardsley
Young Mark
Nicholas Farrell
Airey Neave
John Sessions
Edward Heath
Anthony Head
Geoffrey Howe
Richard Syms
House of Commons Speaker
David Westhead
Shadow Minister
Julian Wadham
Francis Pym
Richard E. Grant
Michael Heseltine
Angus Wright
John Nott
Roger Allam
Gordon Reece
Michael Pennington
Michael Foot
John Harding
Cabinet Minister
Simon Chandler
Cabinet Minister
Stephen Boxer
Cabinet Minister
Jasper Jacob
Cabinet Minister
Rupert Vansittart
Cabinet Minister
Robin Kermode
Cabinet Minister
Andrew Havill
Cabinet Minister
Michael Elwyn
Cabinet Minister
Peter Pacey
Cabinet Minister
Jeremy Child
Cabinet Minister
James Smith
Cabinet Minister
Hugh Ross
Cabinet Minister
Chris Campbell
Cabinet Minister
Paul Bentley
Cabinet Minister
Martin Wimbush
Cabinet Minister
Simon Slater
Cabinet Minister
David Cann
TV Interviewer
Christopher Luscombe
Voice Coach
Angela Curran
Michael Maloney
Pip Torrens
Ian Gilmour
Nick Dunning
Jim Prior
David Rintoul
Admiral Fieldhouse
Nicholas Jones
Admiral Leach
Richard Goulding
Naval Attaché
Matthew Marsh
Alexander Haig
Willie Jonah
Kenneth Kaunda
Phyllida Lloyd
Abi Morgan
Elliot Davies


Gloriously staged, magnificently acted, brilliantly directed.

– John Smith, New York Times